27 march

Visa-free regime will be applied in four non-EU and four Schengen member states

The liberalized visa regime with the EU for Moldovans will be also applied in four EU member states that do not form part of the Schengen area (Romania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Croatia) and in four non-EU Schengen member states (Liechtenstein, Island, Norway, and Switzerland). The information was confirmed for IPN by Ana Taban, head of the press service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Integration.

The decision to liberalize the visa regime will be put into practice 20 days after it is published in the Official Journal of the European Union. Besides the aforementioned states, the Moldovans will travel visa-free also to Germany, Spain, Italy, Poland, Luxemburg, Portugal, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Austria, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, and Malta.

The UK makes an exception. Visas for entering it will be further required.

The liberalized visa regime is expected to take effect at the end of May. The Moldovans holding biometric passports will be able to travel visa-free in the mentioned countries within 90 days during half a year. Those who will violate this regime face fines of up to 3,000 lei or bans on traveling in the EU for a certain period.