28 july

Civil Society oppisition criticize President's decree on awarding officials

Representatives of civil society and opposition parties have criticized the decree of Moldovan President Nicolae Timofti on awarding a number of officials for their successes in the process of European Integration.

Former Minister of Transport and Road Infrastructure, Deputy Chairman of the Liberal Party Anatol Salaru has written on his page in social network that “the Timofti’s act is symbolic, as it makes clear that the awardees have nothing to do in the politics any more”.

“The President has awarded those, who have to leave the political arena. The fact that he has not awarded himself does not mean that he should not retire. It is just because Mr. Timofti does not know yet who the President of Moldova is”. Salaru has written.

According to him, “the most pleasant was the awarding of Vlad Turcanu and Ion Paduraru [President’s Press Secretary and Head of the Presidential Administration] – the first speaks instead of the President, the second – runs the country instead of the President”.

“Now it remains that Timofti to award Former President of Ukraine Victor Yanukovych and Russian President Vladimir Putin, as they have also played an important role in the acceleration of signing and ratification of the RM-EU Association Agreement”, mentioned Salaru.

Chairman of “Our Party” Renato Usatii believes that awarding of politicians, who have contributed to the process of European Integration shows Timofti’s desire to outrun LP Leader Mihai Ghimpu, [who, during his acting president has awarded over 2 thousand people] at the number of the awards given.

“People, who were robbing the country, have been awarded. There are people, who deserved it, but they are few”, he has written in social networks.

Infotag’s dossier: On Thursday, a group of MPs, ministers, heads of state institutions and local administration in number of 50 people have been awarded decorations and medals “for successes, achieved in the process of the European Integration”. Among them 9 people were awarded with the “Order of Republic”: Parliament Chairman Igor Corman, Prime Minister Iurie Leanca, Deputy Premier, Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration Natalia Gherman, Head of the Presidential Administration Ion Paduraru, Chairman of the parliamentary Standing Committee for Foreign Policy and European Integration Ana Gutu, Former Parliament Speaker, MP Marian Lupu, Former Deputy Parliament Chairman Vlad Plahotniuc and MP Valeriu Strelet. The “Order of Honor” was awarded to 5 people, Order “Labor Glory” – to 19 people.